Hungary to find out Nations League opponents on Wednesday

2018. január. 23., 18:55   |    

Hungary to find out Nations League opponents on Wednesday

The draw for the inaugural UEFA Nations League, which begins this autumn, takes place at midday on Wednesday in Lausanne.

Hungary is one of the top seeds in League C – the third rung of the new competition, which will be the second league to be drawn. If you’d like to be among the first to find out who Hungary’s opponents will be as well as every important detail, follow the MLSZ Twitter channel.

Wednesday’s draw begins with League D, with the 4th seeds being allocated groups first – the first into Group 1, the second indo Group 2, and so on – followed by the third-, second- and first seeds.  League C groups – Hungary’s league – will be drawn next, with the difference that there are only three 4th seeds, meaning that the first 4th seed drawn will go into Group 2, and not Group 1. Group 1 will comprise of three teams, whilst groups 2, 3 and 4 will have four teams each. As Hungary are top seeds in the League C, they will be one of the last teams drawn in League C.

Once the draw has been made, the various team representatives will agree upon the group match schedule; who plays against who, and when. At the same time, UEFA will determine the match kick-off times, taking into account the requests of the TV coverage rights-owners.

Teams won’t have a completely free hand when setting the matchdays, UEFA having regulations which are determined by the geographical and climatic conditions. Those regulations which might affect Hungary are that possible opponents Finland and Norway may not play home matches in November due to the weather. Although the climate in Estonia and Lithuania is milder, should their group draw permit, neither will they play home matches on the final two matchdays of 2018.

UEFA has designated three match lick-off times. Midweek matches will be played at the tried and trusted Champions League kick-off time of 20:45, complemented with some 18:00 kick-offs. Matches held on weekends will be split evenly between 20:45 and 18:00 but there will also be a 15:00 kick-off too.

League C seedings:

1st seeds: Hungary, Romania, Scotland, Slovenia    
2nd seeds: Greece, Serbia, Albania, Norway
3rd seeds: Montenegro, Israel, Bulgaria, Finland
4th seeds: Cyprus, Estonia, Lithuania

The traditional European Championship qualifiers will be begin in spring 2019 after the group-stage of the Nations League has been completed, with the Nations League semi-finals and finals to be held in spring 2020. The four league winners (of League 1, 2, 3, and 4) will qualify for UEFA Euro 2020.

UEFA has made the following video about the points of contact between the League of Nations and the traditional European Championship qualifiers:


  • Adidas
  • OTP Bank


  • Merkantil Bank
  • Groupama Biztosító
  • MOL
  • Förch
  • Jet Sol